

Pres. - Perry Kapaun V.P. - John Kopp Treas. - Jeff Differding Sec. - Randy Bostrom P.R. - Jill Christensen

Trustees

Jay Holm Don Baasch Bob Maresh Gary Will

NEXT MEETING...WEDNESDAY, APRIL 14TH, 2010...VC VFW MOOSE BURGERS SERVED TO PAID UP MEMBERS 6 PM TILL GONE MEETING TO FOLLOW AT 7:00 PM

AT THE MARCH MEETING GARY KRAPU GAVE A SHORT PRESENTATION ON HIS RECENT CRANE STUDY IN RUSSIA. HIS EXPERIENCE WAS VERY INTERESTING ALONG WITH THE LANDSCAPE, CLIMATE AND CULTURE.

WINTER SHOW BOOTH WENT WELL AGAIN---THANK YOU JAY & JOSH HOLM FOR CHAIRING IT! WINNER OF THE BCWF JACKET: AUSTIN LURA, SANBORN

HUNTER-ED CONVENTION (HELD IN FEB.) AWARDS TO THREE OF OUR LOCAL INSTRUCTORS: GAYLON HANSEN, SKIP PEDERSEN AND DENNY HELLAND, EACH RECEIVING A SPECIAL NDGFD PLAQUED REMINGTON RIFLE FOR THEIR 25 YEARS OF INSTRUCTING. DUE TO STORMY WEATHER, THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO ATTEND, BUT A PHOTO HAS BEEN SUBMITTED TO THE TIMES RECORD.

CONGRATULATIONS GUYS! AND THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMITMENT!

WE THANK SKIP PEDERSEN (NEWCHAIR 2010) AND THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTORS FOR ANOTHER SUCCESSFUL CLASS WITH 34 GRADUATES. GAYLON HANSEN, DENNIS HELLAND, KARL HELLAND, DALE VESELKA, DUANE REINISCH, EUGENE PEDERSON, MARLOWE GRINDLER, BRUCE STORHOFF AND BRUCE NIELSEN. Special thanks to extra helpers: Randy Bostrom & Mic Retterath.

A JUNE CLASS IS PLANNED, STAY TUNED IN.

NDWF CONVENTION (HELD IN MARCH) REPORT AT THE APRIL MEETING ALONG WITH A CONSERVATION AWARD PRESENTATION TO DICK MONSON.

SCHOLARSHIPS---3- \$250 VCSU SCHOLARSHIPS WILL BE PRESENTED BY BCWF (MEMORIAL FUND) AT THE APRIL MEETING. 10 APPLICATIONS WERE RECEIVED.

SPORT FISHING CONGRESS-ANNUAL FUN NIGHT & BOARD MEETING-APRIL 9-10 IN MANDAN. CONTACT DON BAASCH FOR MORE INFO OR TO ATTEND 845-1693

SUMMER YOUTH CAMPS---WE ARE STILL LOOKING FOR A VOLUNTEER TO CHAIR THIS! AT THIS TIME YOU CAN CONTACT ANY OFFICER TO SUBMIT AN INTERESTED YOUTH. BCWF PAYS 75% OF CAMP COST AND THEY DO NOT HAVE TO BE CLUB MEMBERS! WE HOPE SOMEONE WILL STEP UP TO THE PLATE TO TAKE ON THIS PAPERWORK FOLDER!

PHEASANT CHICKS FOR RAISERS- OUR ORDER NEEDS TO BE IN ASAP! CALL JEFF DIFFERDING 845-0957 FOR INFO. CHICK DELIVERY WILL BE THE 1ST PART OF MAY AND RAISERS ARE REQUIRED TO BE ON LOCATION WHEN CHICKS ARRIVE TO REDUCE STRESS AND MORTALITY LOSSES. WE ALL KNOW THAT THE LAST TWO WINTERS HAVE BEEN TOUGH ON WILDLIFE NUMBERS. WE CAN HELP REPLENISH!

SIBLEY BOAT RAMP- OUR APPLICATION WAS RECEIVED AND APPROVED BUT COE IS NOT ELIGIBLE IN THE EQUATION. WE ARE GOING TO RE-WRITE AND SUBMIT ANOTHER REQUEST.

TREE REEF- DATE TO BE SET AT APRIL MEETING-LOCATION SIBLEY. COMMITTEE VOLUNTEERS BRING GOOD GLOVES, KNEE PADS, STRONG BACKS AND A RAKE. LUNCH PROVIDED AFTER PROJECT.

FAUST PARK AND RIVER ROAD CLEANUP- DATES TO BE SCHEDULED ALSO. BRING YOUR IDEAS AND VOLUNTEERISM TO THE APRIL MEETING.

INDOOR ARCHERY RANGE IS OPEN MONDAY AND WEDNESDAY NIGHTS 7-10 PM IN THE AUDI BASEMENT. COME AND CHECK IT OUT (1ST NIGHT IS FREE). CONTACT NEIL PEDERSON 840-0173 FOR DETAILS.

LEGISLATIVE REPORT- DICK MONSON- FAIR CHASE HUNTING MEASURE PETITION DRIVE IS GOING WELL. OTHER CONCERNS: FEDERAL COST OF CWD, BOVINE TB & OTHER DISEASES- HUNTING LICENSE SURCHARGE FOR PREDATOR TRAPPING ON CRP- WILDLIFE CLUBS THROUGHOUT THE STATE NEED TO GET THEIR DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVES MORE AWARE AND INVOLVED IN WILDLIFE ISSUES!

TRNP ELK - HUNTERS STAY TUNED IN TO THIS! THINGS MAY CHANGE, BUT, THERE SEEMS TO BE A LOT OF RESTRICTIONS AND REQUIREMENTS TO QUALIFY FOR THIS MUCH NEEDED HERD REDUCTION!

VC TRAP CLUB OPENS APRIL 20TH...THE PRIOR 2 TUESDAYS WILL BE CLEAN UP NIGHTS. VOLUNTEER!

SUMMER WALLEYE TOURNAMENT-JUNE 12-13 HAS OPENINGS. CALL PERRY 490-1797.

NDWF AUTO/CASH BANQUET WINNERS-2010

GRAND PRIZE: ROB JEWETT, ROGERS BROWNING RIFLE: AL BREND, WEST FARGO GAS GRILL: RICK TAYLOR, SHELDON

\$200 WINNERS: DENNIS BREDAHL, ROBERT GEIGER, CHUCK BARTZ, EVEN LEGGE AND LESLIE

LOUDEN.

\$100 WINNERS: CHARLIE BRANDENBERG, KRISTIE PLECITY, ERNA ANDERSON, CHUCK & JEFF (VALLEY EXTINGUISHERS) AND JUSTIN MURRAY.

TERRY REDLIN PRINTS: DON OLSON, DENNIS HOYE, WENDEL WOLTERS, SARAH WENDEL, JIM TANATA, JOEL PETERSON, ANDY STRAND, SHAUNA/DOUG LONSKI, MAYNARD FLATT AND MIKE DONAHUE.

OTHER RAFFLE WINNERS: CINDY FORMO, SONNY KUNZE, DENNIS HOYE, DONNA EKERT, ROB JEWETT, GARY WILL, JEFF BUCHHOLZ, MATT MARESH, MIKE KERZMAN, CINDY SCHWEHR, NICK PAULSRUD, DARRELL PETERSON AND JIM BOLEY.